Description: The Community program is designed to provide funds for community development projects that address human service needs, such as senior centers, crisis centers, fire stations and facilities that provide services to low-income persons. As part of the Commonwealth’s allocation from the CDBG program, these projects have been allocated $5,284,771 for 2019 with the maximum amount of $500,000 of CDBG funding per community.

Eligibility: All cities and counties are eligible to apply for the funds with the exception of Ashland, Bowling Green, Covington, Elizabethtown, Henderson, Hopkinsville, Lexington-Fayette County, Louisville/Jefferson County Metro Government, and Owensboro. These entitlement communities receive CDBG funds directly from HUD.

Dates: Community Projects – The application submission dates typically run April through August. 

Description: The main investment tool used by the Delta Regional Authority is the States’ Economic Development Assistance Program (SEDAP), which provides direct investment into community-based and regional projects that address the DRA’s congressionally mandated four funding priorities.

SEDAP funds must be invested in projects supporting one or more of the following categories:

  1. Basic Public Infrastructure
  2. Transportation Infrastructure
  3. Business Development, with an emphasis on Entrepreneurship
  4. Workforce Development

Eligibility: Entities eligible to apply for SEDAP funding include: State and Local Governments (state agencies, cities, counties/parishes), Public Bodies, Non-profit Organizations

Dates: Application cycle typically runs March through June.

Description: The DRA created the Community Infrastructure Fund (CIF) to target physical infrastructure projects that help build safer, more resilient communities in the Delta region. With the addition of the CIF to DRA’s portfolio of funding opportunities, DRA will have increased flexibility to support states and communities as they address the unmet infrastructure needs in the region. CIF investments can be used for projects that address flood control, basic public infrastructure development, and transportation infrastructure improvements.

Eligibility: Entities eligible to apply for CIF funding include: State and Local Governments (state agencies, cities, counties/parishes), Public Bodies, Non-profit Organizations

Dates: Application cycle typically runs March through June.

Description: This program provides affordable funding to develop essential community facilities in rural areas. An essential community facility is defined as a facility that provides an essential service to the local community for the orderly development of the community in a primarily rural area, and does not include private, commercial or business undertakings. Funds can be used to purchase, construct, and / or improve essential community facilities, purchase equipment and pay related project expenses.

Examples of essential community facilities include:

  • Health care facilities such as hospitals, medical clinics, dental clinics, nursing homes or assisted living facilities
  • Public facilities such as town halls, courthouses, airport hangars or street improvements
  • Community support services such as child care centers, community centers, fairgrounds or transitional housing
  • Public safety services such as fire departments, police stations, prisons, police vehicles, fire trucks, public works vehicles or equipment
  • Educational services such as museums, libraries or private schools
  • Utility services such as telemedicine or distance learning equipment
  • Local food systems such as community gardens, food pantries, community kitchens, food banks, food hubs or greenhouses

Eligibility: Eligible borrowers include: Public bodies, Community-based non-profit corporations, Federally-recognized Tribes.